Black Friday

It has been a wonderful restful day. I have never understood why the day after Thanksgiving is Black Friday for the media. For me, it is a day of rest and reflection, a time to think, read, make new lists, and prepare for the upcoming holidays – on paper. I have no desire to shop today — not even on line. That chore can be done later. Today feels like a “snow day”. The world is in slow motion and all is well. The refrigerator is filled with leftovers. There is more than enough for dinner. I am thankful.

Tomorrow is soon enough to start decorating for Christmas. I choose to relish this day and its quiet as a day of completion and thanksgiving that Thanksgiving Day was such a joy! And again, I am thankful.

2 responses to “Black Friday

  1. Black Friday is given that name because it is the ususal day when the retailers cross into the black ink side of their profit ledgers…out of the red ink. They hope all sales from BF till Jan. 1 will be profits.
    I am in total agreement with you about how to spend the day after Thanksgiving. Rest/relax/be grateful/avoid the Mall Frenzy/enjoy the peace and quiet of my own home!!

  2. Joan: Thanks for including me in your blog. I enjoyed so much your sharing your thoughts and feelings. Glenn and Jenni (John’s son and wife) are in Denmark). Jenni created a blog to keep in touch with family and friends while so far away. It has meant so much to me and helped to fill the gap of their absence.

    You have so much to share and it is so meaningful. I’ll keep reading if you keep writing!

    Love and thanks,

    Linda

Leave a Reply

